Volume 23 Issue 3 - January 25, 2013
Add Bookmark RSS Subscribe BANYAN
Yih-Fan Chen
Controlled photonic manipulation of proteins and other nanomaterials
Article Digest
Tsang-Tse Fang
Significant Processing Parameters for Sintered Density, Phase Development, and Microstructure Observation of Sr2FeMoO6
Shih-Wen Hsiao
Product-form design model based on genetic algorithms
Wei-Chou Hsu
Efficiency Improvement of Top-emission Organic Light-emitting Diode by Using UV-ozone, Doped Emission Layer, and Hole-blocking Layer
Wen-Chau Liu
On an AlGaInP-Based Light Emitting Diode with an Indium-Tin-Oxide (ITO) Direct Ohmic Contact Structure
News Release
NCKU Press Center
Chu, Paul C. W. named National Academy of Inventors Charter Fellow
News Release
NCKU Press Center
Fujitsu delegation visits NCKU to boost up academic cooperation
NCKU Press Center
NCKU professor won IEEE Inaba Technical Award for Innovation Leading to Production
NCKU Press Center
16 professors received TCUS young scholar innovation awards
NCKU Press Center
NCKU Mandolin Orchestra to perform benefit concerts in Malaysia
Banyan Forum
Editorial Group
Chu, Paul C. W. named National Academy of Inventors Charter Fellow
NCKU Press Center
[Tainan, Taiwan, Jan. 10, 2013]
The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) has named Dr. Paul Ching-Wu Chu, the Honorary Chancellor of Taiwan Comprehensive University System (TCUS), to NAI Charter Fellow status in recognition of his distinct inventions improving the welfare of human society, TCUS announced today.

The ceremony will be held at the Embassy Suites Hotel in the University of South Florida Research Park, Feb. 22, as Dr. Chu will be presented with a special trophy and a rosette pin.

A total of 101 academic inventors and innovators are elected to 2012 NAI Charter Fellow status and represent 54 universities and non-profit research institutes. Collectively, they hold more than 3,200 U.S. patents, according to NAI.

World-renowned superconductivity pioneer Dr. Paul Ching-Wu Chu is still actively engaged in the basic and applied research of high temperature superconducting and related materials and technologies.

Currently, he serves as the Founding Director and Chief Scientist of the Texas Center for Superconductivity and the T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science at the University of Houston.

Out of love for Taiwan and gratitude to his alma mater National Cheng Kung University (NCKU), Dr. Chu took up the position of the Honorary Chancellor of TCUS, Nov. 5, 2012. He is dedicated to lead the universities allied in TCUS for creating a powerful force in the academe within the Asia-Pacific region.

His prestigious stature in innovation established when he and his colleagues achieved stable superconductivity at 93 K (-180ºC) above the critical temperature of liquid nitrogen (-196ºC) in January 1987, which is recognized as a major advancement in modern science.

Later, the team again obtained stable superconductivity at a new record high temperature of 164 K (-109ºC) in another compound when it was compressed.

The NAI Fellows Selection Committee was comprised of recipients of National Medals, a National Inventors Hall of Fame inductee, 14 members from the National Academies, senior officials from the USPTO, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Association of University Technology Managers (AUTM), and the United Inventors Association, and leaders from several research universities.

Included in the Charter class are 8 Nobel Laureates, 2 Fellows of the Royal Society, 14 presidents of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 53 members of the National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine), 11 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, 5 recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, 4 recipients of the National Medal of Science, and 31 AAAS Fellows, among other major awards and distinctions.

The NAI Charter Fellows will be recognized with a full page announcement in The Chronicle of Higher Education on Jan. 18, 2013, in the Jan. 2013 issue of Inventors Digest, and in a future issue of Technology and Innovation – Proceedings of the National Academy of Inventors.

Additionally, Dr. Chu has been elected as a member of the National Academy of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Science, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Academia Sinica, the Third World Academy of Science, and the Electromagnetic Academy, and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Texas Academy of Science.
Copyright National Cheng Kung University